Faculty and Staff

Tenure / Tenure-Track Faculty

Joel Bach

Joel Bach

Associate Professor
Brown Hall W310H
303-384-2161
jmbach@mines.edu

John Berger

John Berger

Professor and Department Head
Brown Hall W350B
303-273-3682
jberger@mines.edu

Gregory Bogin Jr.

Gregory Bogin Jr.

Associate Professor
Brown Hall W410F
303-273-3655
gbogin@mines.edu

Robert Braun

Robert Braun

Associate Professor
Brown Hall W410A
303-273-3055
rbraun@mines.edu

Cristian Ciobanu

Cristian Ciobanu

Professor
Brown Hall W470A
303-384-2119
cciobanu@mines.edu

Kristine Csavina

Kristine Csavina

Teaching Professor and Assistant Department Head
Brown Hall W350E
303-384-2146
kcsavina@mines.edu

Steven DeCaluwe

Steven DeCaluwe

Assistant Professor
Brown Hall W410B
303-273-3666
decaluwe@mines.edu

Mark Deinert

Mark Deinert

Associate Professor
Brown Hall W370A
303-384-2387
mdeinert@mines.edu

Greg Jackson

Greg Jackson

Professor
Brown Hall W470C
303-273-3609
gsjackso@mines.edu

Robert Kee

Robert Kee

George R. Brown Distinguished Professor
Brown Hall W370E
303-273-3379
rjkee@mines.edu

Alexandra Newman

Alexandra Newman

Professor
Brown Hall 312
303-273-3688
anewman@mines.edu

Anthony Petrella

Anthony Petrella

Associate Professor
Brown Hall W310F
303-384-2274
apetrell@mines.edu

Andrew Petruska

Andrew Petruska

Assistant Professor
Brown Hall W370D
303-384-2021
apetruska@mines.edu

Jason Porter

Jason Porter

Associate Professor
Brown Hall W410D
303-273-3683
jporter@mines.edu

Anne Silverman

Anne Silverman

Associate Professor
Brown Hall W310G
303-384-2162
asilverm@mines.edu

Aaron Stebner

Aaron Stebner

Rowlinson Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Brown Hall W470F
303-273-3091
astebner@mines.edu

Neal Sullivan

Neal Sullivan

Associate Professor
Brown Hall W410H
303-273-3656
nsulliva@mines.edu

Paulo Cesar Tabares-Velasco

Paulo Cesar Tabares-Velasco

Assistant Professor
Brown Hall W470D
303-273-3980
tabares@mines.edu

Brian Thomas

Brian Thomas

Professor
Brown Hall W370B
303-273-3309
bgthomas@mines.edu

Nils Tilton

Nils Tilton

Assistant Professor
Brown Hall W410E
303-384-2523
ntilton@mines.edu

Garritt Tucker

Garritt Tucker

Assistant Professor
Brown Hall W470B
303-273-3974
tucker@mines.edu

Ruichong ‘Ray’ Zhang

Ruichong ‘Ray’ Zhang

Associate Professor
Brown Hall W470D
303-273-3671
rzhang@mines.edu

Xiaoli Zhang

Xiaoli Zhang

Assistant Professor
Brown Hall W310A
303-384-2343
xlzhang@mines.edu

Teaching Faculty

Jeffrey Ackerman

Jeffrey Ackerman

Teaching Assistant Professor
Brown Hall W310D
303-273-3496
ackerman@mines.edu

Kristine Csavina

Kristine Csavina

Teaching Professor and Assistant Department Head
Brown Hall W350E
303-384-2146
kcsavina@mines.edu

Ventzi Karaivanov

Ventzi Karaivanov

Teaching Professor
Brown Hall W310E
303-384-2207
vkaraiva@mines.edu

Oyvind Nilsen

Oyvind Nilsen

Teaching Associate Professor
Brown Hall W410G
303-384-2136
onilsen@mines.edu

Derrick Rodriguez

Derrick Rodriguez

Teaching Associate Professor
Brown Hall W310C
303-273-3177
drrodrig@mines.edu

Jeffrey Wheeler

Jeffrey Wheeler

Teaching Assistant Professor
Brown Hall W310B
303-273-3173
jewheele@mines.edu

Research Faculty

Angel Abbud-Madrid

Angel Abbud-Madrid

Research Associate Professor
GRL 234C
303-384-2300
aabbudma@mines.edu

Christopher Dreyer

Christopher Dreyer

Research Assistant Professor
Brown Hall 310B
303-273-3890
cdreyer@mines.edu

George Gilmer

George Gilmer

Research Professor
Brown Hall W410I
303-273-3659
ggilmer@mines.edu

Branden Kappes

Branden Kappes

Research Assistant Professor
Brown Hall W410I
303-273-3659
bkappes@mines.edu

Canan Karakaya

Canan Karakaya

Research Assistant Professor
Brown Hall W310I
303-384-2481
ckarakay@mines.edu

Andrew Osborne

Andrew Osborne

Research Assistant Professor
Brown Hall W310I
303-384-2481
osbornea@mines.edu

Sandrine Ricote

Sandrine Ricote

Research Associate Professor
GRL
303-384-2091
sricote@mines.edu

Huayang Zhu

Huayang Zhu

Research Associate Professor
Brown Hall W410C
303-273-2032
hzhu@mines.edu

Affiliate Faculty

Michael Mooney

Michael Mooney

Grewcock University Endowed Chair and Professor
Director, Center for Underground Construction and Tunneling
303-384-2498
mooney@mines.edu

Emeriti

Robert King

Emeritus Professor

Dr. King retired from traditional teaching and research in June 2012. He is currently developing course materials on part-time status.

David Munoz

Emeritus Associate Professor

Dr. Munoz retired from teaching effective January 2011. He is now working with the Fetzer Institute and other nonprofits in the areas generally designated as humanitarian or peace engineering.

Graham Mustoe

Emeritus Professor

Terry Parker

Emeritus Professor

Prior to retiring in September 2016, Prof. Parker served as a faculty member in the Engineering Division at Mines for over 20 years, including tenures as Engineering Division director, vice president of academic affairs and provost.

John P.H. Steele

Emeritus Associate Professor

Dr. Steele completed his transition to retirement from Mines in May 2017. His significant contributions to the institution and his field will be remembered through a yearly student award.

Staff

Traci Case

Technical and Operations Manager
Brown Hall W350D
303-273-3248
tcase@mines.edu

M.C. “Buddy” Haun

Lab Coordinator
Brown Hall W155B
303-273-3962
bhaun@mines.edu

Kelly Knechtel

Undergraduate Program Manager
Brown Hall 339
303.384.2394
knechtel@mines.edu

Darren McSweeney

Electronics and Computing Support Manager
Brown Hall 317
303-384-2064
dmcsweeney@mines.edu

Shelly Myskiw

Program Administrator
Brown Hall W350C
303-384-2153
smyskiw@mines.edu

Lori Sisneros

Graduate Program Manager
Brown Hall 339
303-273-3658
sisneros@mines.edu

J. Scott Willmeng

Machine Shop Manager
Brown Hall W130
303-273-3668
jswillmeng@mines.edu