Faculty and Staff

FACULTY  |  EMERITI  |  STAFF

Faculty

Angel Abbud-Madrid

Angel Abbud-Madrid

Professor of Practice and
Director, Space Resources Program
General Research Lab 234C
303-384-2300
aabbudma@mines.edu

Jeffrey Ackerman

Jeffrey Ackerman

Teaching Assistant Professor
Brown Hall W310D
303-273-3496
ackerman@mines.edu

Behnam Amin-Ahmadi

Behnam Amin-Ahmadi

Research Assistant Professor
CoorsTek 205
303-384-2507
baminahmadi@mines.edu

Mohsen Asle Zaeem

Mohsen Asle Zaeem

Associate Professor
CoorsTek 203
303-384-2260
zaeem@mines.edu

Joel Bach

Joel Bach

Associate Professor
Brown Hall W310H
303-384-2161
jmbach@mines.edu

John Berger

John Berger

Professor and Department Head
Brown Hall W350B
303-273-3682
jberger@mines.edu

Jenifer Blacklock

Jenifer Blacklock

Teaching Professor and
Asst. Director, Advanced Manufacturing Program
Brown Hall W410D
303-273-3661
jblacklo@mines.edu

Gregory Bogin Jr.

Gregory Bogin Jr.

Associate Professor
Brown Hall W410F
303-273-3655
gbogin@mines.edu

Robert Braun

Robert Braun

Rowlinson Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Brown Hall W410A
303-273-3055
rbraun@mines.edu

Craig Brice

Craig Brice

Professor of Practice and
Director, Advanced Manufacturing Program
CoorsTek 219
303-384-2114 craigabrice@mines.edu

Seongmook Cho

Seongmook Cho

Research Assistant Professor
Brown Hall W470I
217-417-4773
seongmookcho1@mines.edu

Cristian Ciobanu

Cristian Ciobanu

Professor
CoorsTek 225
303-384-2119
cciobanu@mines.edu

Kristine Csavina

Kristine Csavina

Teaching Professor and Assistant Department Head for Undergraduate Studies
Brown Hall W350E
303-384-2146
kcsavina@mines.edu

Steven DeCaluwe

Steven DeCaluwe

Associate Professor
Brown Hall W410B
303-273-3666
decaluwe@mines.edu

Mark Deinert

Mark Deinert

Associate Professor
Brown Hall W370D
303-384-2387
mdeinert@mines.edu

Christopher Dreyer

Christopher Dreyer

Professor of Practice, Space Resources
General Research Lab 234A
303-273-3890
cdreyer@mines.edu

Veronica Eliasson

Veronica Eliasson

Associate Professor
CoorsTek 216
303-384-2509
eliasson@mines.edu

Stephen Geer

Stephen Geer

Teaching Assistant Professor
Brown Hall W370C
303-384-2091
sgeer@mines.edu

Carolina Herradón Hernandez

Carolina Herradón Hernandez

Research Assistant Professor
GRL 232/241
303-384-2494
cherradon@mines.edu

Owen Hildreth

Owen Hildreth

Assistant Professor
CoorsTek 214
303-384-2457
ohildreth@mines.edu

Garrison Hommer

Garrison Hommer

Research Assistant Professor
CoorsTek 217
715-456-5754
ghommer@mines.edu

Greg Jackson

Greg Jackson

Professor
Brown Hall W470C
303-273-3609
gsjackso@mines.edu

Ventzi Karaivanov

Ventzi Karaivanov

Teaching Professor
Brown Hall W310E
303-384-2207
vkaraiva@mines.edu

Canan Karakaya

Canan Karakaya

Research Assistant Professor
Brown Hall W310I
303-384-2481
ckarakay@mines.edu

Robert Kee

Robert Kee

George R. Brown Distinguished Professor
Brown Hall W370E
303-273-3379
rjkee@mines.edu

Leslie Lamberson

Leslie Lamberson

Associate Professor
CoorsTek 218
303-273-3459
les@mines.edu

Michael Mooney

Michael Mooney

Grewcock University Endowed Chair and Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering; Joint Appointment, Mechanical Engineering
303-384-2498
mooney@mines.edu

Alexandra Newman

Alexandra Newman

Professor and Director,
Operations Research with Engineering Program
Brown Hall W470B
303-273-3688
anewman@mines.edu

Oyvind Nilsen

Oyvind Nilsen

Teaching Associate Professor
Brown Hall W410G
303-384-2136
onilsen@mines.edu

Andrew Osborne

Andrew Osborne

Assistant Professor
Brown Hall W370A
303-384-2003
osbornea@mines.edu

Anthony Petrella

Anthony Petrella

Associate Professor and
Director, FEA Certificate Program
Brown Hall W310F
303-384-2274
apetrell@mines.edu

Andrew Petruska

Andrew Petruska

Assistant Professor
Brown Hall W470F
303-384-2021
apetruska@mines.edu

Jason Porter

Jason Porter

Associate Professor and Assistant Department Head for Graduate Studies
Brown Hall W350F
303-273-3683
jporter@mines.edu

Kelly Rickey

Kelly Rickey

Teaching Assistant Professor
Brown Hall W370B
303-384-2489
krickey@mines.edu

Sandrine Ricote

Sandrine Ricote

Research Associate Professor
sricote@mines.edu

Derrick Rodriguez

Derrick Rodriguez

Teaching Associate Professor
Brown Hall W310C
303-273-3177
drrodrig@mines.edu

Amy Schweikert

Amy Schweikert

Research Assistant Professor
Brown Hall W310I
303-384-2481
aschweikert@mines.edu

Anne Silverman

Anne Silverman

Rowlinson Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Brown Hall W310G
303-384-2162
asilverm@mines.edu

George Sowers

George Sowers

Professor of Practice, Space Resources
GRL 234
303-273-3087
gsowers@mines.edu

Neal Sullivan

Neal Sullivan

Associate Professor
Brown Hall W410H
303-273-3656
nsulliva@mines.edu

Paulo Cesar Tabares-Velasco

Paulo Cesar Tabares-Velasco

Assistant Professor
Brown Hall W470G
303-273-3980
tabares@mines.edu

Brian Thomas

Brian Thomas

Professor
Brown Hall W470A
303-273-3309
bgthomas@mines.edu

Nils Tilton

Nils Tilton

Assistant Professor
Brown Hall W410E
303-384-2523
ntilton@mines.edu

Garritt Tucker

Garritt Tucker

Associate Professor
CoorsTek 201
303-273-3974
tucker@mines.edu

Greg VanderBeek

Greg VanderBeek

Teaching Assistant Professor
Brown Hall W470E
303-384-2280
gvanderb@mines.edu

Jeffrey Wheeler

Jeffrey Wheeler

Teaching Assistant Professor
Brown Hall W310B
303-273-3173
jewheele@mines.edu

Jim Wong

Jim Wong

Teaching Assistant Professor
Brown Hall 314G
303-384-2401
jwong@mines.edu

Ruichong ‘Ray’ Zhang

Ruichong ‘Ray’ Zhang

Associate Professor
Brown Hall W470D
303-273-3671
rzhang@mines.edu

Xiaoli Zhang

Xiaoli Zhang

Associate Professor
Brown Hall W310A
303-384-2343
xlzhang@mines.edu

Huayang Zhu

Huayang Zhu

Research Associate Professor
Brown Hall W410C
303-384-2032
hzhu@mines.edu

Emeriti

Joan Gosink

Emeritus Professor

Joan Gosink became Division Director of the Division of Engineering in 1991 after serving as a Program Manager at the National Science Foundation.  Dr. Gosink retired from Mines in 2003.

Robert King

Emeritus Professor

Dr. King retired from traditional teaching and research in June 2012. He is currently developing course materials on part-time status.

David Munoz

Emeritus Associate Professor

Dr. Munoz retired from teaching effective January 2011. He is now working with the Fetzer Institute and other nonprofits in the areas generally designated as humanitarian or peace engineering.

Graham Mustoe

Emeritus Professor

Dr. Mustoe is on transitional retirement and will fully retire after the Spring 2019 semester.

Terry Parker

Emeritus Professor

Prior to retiring in September 2016, Prof. Parker served as a faculty member in the Engineering Division at Mines for over 20 years, including tenures as Engineering Division director, vice president of academic affairs and provost.

John P.H. Steele

Emeritus Associate Professor
Brown Hall 314G
303-273-3663
jsteele@mines.edu 
Homepage

John Steele completed his transition to official retirement in May 2017 but continues to work actively with graduate students on research in robotics and intelligent machines.

Staff

Traci Case

Technical and Operations Manager
Brown Hall W350D
303-273-3248
tcase@mines.edu

Sue Paulson

Department Business and Fiscal Manager
Brown Hall W350C
303-384-2153
smpaulson@mines.edu

Erin Smith

Administrative Assistant
Brown Hall W350
303-273-3467
eksmith@mines.edu

Amy Brice
Amy Brice

Proposal Coordinator
Brown Hall W350A
303-273-3957
abrice@mines.edu

Casey Bernal

Instructional Machine Shop Manager
Brown Hall W130A
303-273-3668
cbernal@mines.edu

M.C. “Buddy” Haun

Lab Coordinator
CTLM 123
303-273-3962
bhaun@mines.edu

Ben Moore

Undergraduate Program Manager
Brown Hall W275
303-384-2394
benmoore@mines.edu

Dorothy Cheng

Graduate Program Manager
Brown Hall W285
303-273-3658
cheng@mines.edu

In 2024, the year of our 150th anniversary, we will celebrate Colorado School of Mines’ past, present and possibilities. By celebrating and supporting the Campaign for MINES@150 you will help elevate Mines to be an accessible, top-of-mind and first-choice for students, faculty, staff, recruiters and other external partners. When you give, you are ensuring Mines becomes even more distinctive and highly sought-after by future students, alumni, industry, and government partners over the next 150 years. We look forward to celebrating Mines’ sesquicentennial with you and recognizing the key role you play in making the MINES@150 vision a reality through your investments of time, talent and treasure. Give now