The Colorado School of Mines & Arapahoe Community College BattChallenge team poses with Micky Bly, left, Stellantis’ senior vice president and head of Global Propulsion Systems, and Michael Berube, right, U.S. DOE’s deputy assistant secretary for sustainable transportation and fuels in the Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, after earning the First Place Overall Award during the Battery Workforce Challenge’s Year One Competition Awards Ceremony on Thursday, May 9, at the Palmer House Hilton in Chicago.The combined team from Colorado School of Mines and Arapahoe Community College were selected as winners of the end of year 1 competition hosted by Stellantis and Argonne National Laboratory in Chicago this last week.

Mines’ team was selected ahead of some of the top automotive engineering programs in the country, including Ohio State University, Clemson University, and the University of Alabama, taking home the first-place prize along with additional awards acknowledging the team’s technical excellence in EV pack design and testing. In total, the team will be coming back to Golden with nearly $20,000 in awarded prize funds as well as national recognition for Mines and the ability of our students to deliver complex multidisciplinary solutions to today’s energy challenges.

I’m also thrilled to announce that our very own Dr. Polina Ringler was selected as the winner of the BWC Outstanding Faculty Award.  This award recognizes a university and a vocational faculty advisor who provided exceptional guidance, support, and mentorship to their team, significantly contributing to the team’s growth, learning, and success in the competition.

For more information click here.